Life after Africa

My African adventure is over and after only two weeks at home I’m back into a routine.

During my three months in Africa I ticked lots of things off my bucket list but there’s still so much to see and do.  My list is now longer than it was before I left.

There’s something about Africa… it gets under your skin (literally), three months was a great trip but not even close to long enough and I can’t wait to go back!

Back at home I’ve had an opportunity to reflect.  I’m a very lucky lady and am incredibly grateful to all the people that let me into their lives while I was away.  To Aunty and the Ghanaian Times team, my guide Moses on Mt Kenya, to all the Kili crew and James in Uganda, the staff and my fellow guests at Mnemba Island and Ngala Private Reserve and also to all the random travellers, aid workers and African enthusiasts I met along the way – thank you!  I had the time of my life!

There wasn’t any one experience I can say was ‘the highlight’.  Even when pushed to list my top three I can’t.  So in no particular order these are my top five:

  1. Climbing Mt Kilimanjaro (and making it to the top) knowing that our group had raised over $55,000 for Cure Cancer
  2. Sharing an hour in the forest with a family of 8 mountain gorillas in Uganda
  3. Getting to know the cocoa farmers in Ayiem, Ghana and trying to wrap my head around the challenges farmers in West Africa face
  4. Relaxing on Mnemba Island where I swam with dolphins, saw turtles laying and hatching and experienced the best service I have ever had

    First night sundowner in front of #2

  5. Getting to the stage where I am 100% comfortable to walk into a restaurant and ask for “a table for one”

To everyone involved with my top five thank you – they wouldn’t have been the same without you!

I also want to take this opportunity to thank everyone who helped me get to Africa.  To all the people who donated to Cure Cancer, to my Safari Soiree sponsors, to my friends and family who endured hours of planning and deliberations without ever telling me to shut up, I really appreciate all your support.  Thank you!

So finally I guess the question is where to from here?

Firstly I need to write all the stories from this awesome adventure and secondly… I’ll start to plan a trip back to Africa.

In the interim I’ll keep updating this blog with the stories I get published, local adventures and interesting African things I come across… so don’t delete the link from your favourites just yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

